Klasey Consulting LLC, run by clinical psychologist Nicole Klasey, PsyD, consults with agencies on trauma informed care, programming for commercially sexually exploited children (CSEC), culturally responsive services, vicarious trauma, and leadership development. Dr. Klasey has been training multidisciplinary audiences on trauma-related topics since 2015 and has taught graduate-level psychology courses. She authored a commercial sexual exploitation intervention and prevention curriculum. Her work has been recognized by Los Angeles County leaders and she has been awarded the State of California Senate Certificate of Recognition by Senator Joel Anderson. 

More information on Klasey Consulting LLC can be found on their website.

Upcoming Live Klasey Consulting LLC Webinars

An Overview of Commercial Sexual Exploitation

Monday, March 4th and Wednesday, March 6th, 2024

2-5pm PT / 4-7pm CT / 5-8pm ET

The Impact of Systemic Racism in Healthcare and the Educational System

Thursday, March 28th and Friday, March 29th, 2024

2-4pm PT / 4-6pm CT / 5-7pm ET

"Raising Awareness" (Commercial sexual exploitation prevention curriculum for parents) Facilitator Training

Monday, April 8th and Monday, April 15th, 2024

2-4pm PT/ 4-6pm CT/ 5-7pm ET

Applying Harm Reduction Principles with Commercially Sexually Exploited Girls and Young Women​

Tuesday, April 16, 2024

1pm-4:15pm PT / 3pm-6:15pm CT / 4pm-7:15pm ET

Applying the Stages of Change with Commercially Sexually Exploited Girls and Young Women

Thursday, May 2nd and Friday, May 3rd, 2024

2-4:30pm PT / 4-6:30pm CT / 5-7:30pm ET 

Strategies to Address Vicarious Trauma

Monday, June 24th and Tuesday, June 25th, 2024

2-4pm PT / 4-6pm CT / 5-7pm ET

Strategies to Assess Familial History of Trauma and Resilience

Thursday, June 27, 2024

7am-10am PT / 9am-12pm CT / 10am-1pm ET

Klasey Consulting LLC Courses Available for Homestudy

Supporting More than Just Youth: the Need to Address Generational Trauma

Working with youth can be challenging given the generational patterns of trauma, poverty, incarceration, etc. So, it’s essential for providers to understand generational trauma and how to work with youth from a generational perspective. Without this perspective, we can have unrealistic expectations for youth and their families and encounter barriers to engagement. Providers will learn strategies to support youth with generational patterns of trauma within their families.

Many youth, especially foster care and juvenile justice youth, come from generational cycles of trauma and oppression. So, it’s necessary for providers to understand these generational patterns to effectively partner with these youth and their families.

Trauma Bonding and Attachment with Trauma Survivors

Given the numerous traumas individuals have experienced, it’s crucial to understand how trauma impacts attachment. When we don’t understand trauma bonding and attachment it makes it hard to understand why someone defends the person abusing them, stays in an abusive relationship, returns to an abusive partner, etc.

This workshop will provide an overview of attachment, the impact trauma has on attachment and trauma bonding. Participants will learn what trauma bonds are, what they look like and how to support individuals in a trauma bond.

Harm Reduction Strategies for Youth Who Run Away

An alarming number of youth run away from home, foster homes, group homes, etc. which can place them in extreme danger. While the safest option for youth would be to not run away, many still do. It’s important for youth serving providers to incorporate harm reduction principles; unfortunately, telling youth not to run away doesn’t work.

In this training, participants will learn the reasons why youth run away and the harm reduction strategies for youth who run away to help increase their safety.

The Impact of Parental Incarceration on Youth​​

Given the large number on incarcerated and formerly incarcerated individuals in the United States, it is important to understand mass incarceration and how it impacts youth and their families. This training will provide an overview of the historical context of mass incarceration, why mass incarceration exists, how it impacts youth, and strategies to support youth who have an incarcerated parent. It is essential for providers across disciplines to understand how parental incarceration impacts youth. Many describe incarceration as a shared sentence as it affects many lives.

Strategies to Address Vicarious Trauma​

This training will discuss vicarious trauma, compassion fatigue, and moral distress that can arise in the helping field. When individuals don’t intentionally care for themselves, it can lead to burnout, premature department from an organization, etc. Participants will learn strategies to increase their self-care to be more resilient and compassionate. It’s essential for those of us in the helping profession to prioritize our overall well-being so we can model it to the youth and families we work with.

Fight, Flight, Freeze and Fawn: What Social Service and Behavioral Health Providers Need to Know About Trauma Responses

Given the amount of trauma youth and adults have experienced, it’s crucial for behavioral health and social service providers to understand common trauma responses and how they may manifest.

Although fight, flight, and freeze are more commonly known there is more acknowledgment of the fawn response. This training will provide an overview of these common trauma responses, how they manifest and how to support youth and adults experiencing them. Participants will also learn strategies to educate clients about trauma responses, so they understand how they show up in their lives and impede their functioning at home, school, work and other settings.