Mother Matters: Clinical Practice with BIPOC Mothers

Presented by Lavonda Mickens, Ph.D.

Friday, February 23, 2024

12-1:30pm PT / 2-3:30pm CT / 3-4:30pm ET

Event held online via Zoom, link to access provided upon registration.

In America, Black and Indigenous Persons of Color (BIPOC) and women are often forgotten and unseen. A history of oppression through slavery, misogyny and social systems have been well-documented since 1619. These systems and treatment of Black and BIPOC women and mothers challenge humanity and vitality, thus making life experiences like childbirth difficult.

Presently, Black women are (3) times as likely to die during childbirth when compared to White women. Pregnancy, birth and postpartum experiences are among the most pivotal life experiences for new mothers. The irony and the tragedy is that Black and BIPOC new mothers often receive less support from traditional systems (e.g. occupational, financial, healthcare, family) exactly when they need it the most. This course is designed to discuss the unseen and neglected needs. This course is also designed to activate change and discuss measurable and tangible ways to improve clinical care and practice.

Zoom link will be available on course page in “My Courses” upon event registration. 

This program, when attended in its entirety, offers 1.5 CEs for Psychologists, 1.5 IL CEUS for Counselors and Social Workers, 1.5 BBS California CEUs for LPCCs, LPSW, and LMFTs.