Autistic Trauma and Recovery

Presented by Kate McNulty, LCSW

Friday, February 23, 2024

9am-11am PT / 11am-1pm CT / 12-2pm ET

Event held online via Zoom, link to access provided upon registration.

Autistic people are more vulnerable to traumatic experiences than the general population. Due to heightened sensitivities and lack of social support, their trajectory of healing from trauma is prolonged and interferes with optimal functioning. Clinicians who treat trauma can refine their skills to work more effectively with this population. Through heightened observation and attunement, therapists can provide clients with skills and habits that serve their neurotype and bring greater relief.

This presentation will provide insight into the diagnostics factors in autism that increase the risk of exposure to trauma. Through interactive discussion, participants will learn methods to build rapport in the therapeutic relationship with autistic clients and discuss methods to gather client feedback to inform empathic responsiveness. This session will conclude with interactive case study discussions and a question answer segment.

Zoom link will be available on course page in “My Courses” upon event registration. 

This program, when attended in its entirety, offers 2.0 CEs for Psychologists, 2.0 IL CEUS for Counselors and Social Workers, or 2.0 BBS California CEUs for LPCCs, LPSWs, and LMFTs.